Founding Members

Universal values | > A journey in space

The UNESCO Dolomites are made up of 9 systems of associated mountain chains, worthy of listing as a World Heritage Site. They meet selection criteria VII (landscape) and VIII (geology and geomorphology), considered universal values. What makes the Dolomites exceptional is their listing as a serial site. Which means, to put it briefly, that the nine UNESCO Dolomite systems are linked by deep-seated relationships in the vertical sense, time, and the horizontal sense of space and, in their entirety they represent a set in perfect harmony. Rather like the score of a symphony, it is made complete by its concerted nature.
To understand the profound meaning and comprehensive nature of the UNESCO Dolomites, it is necessary to take a voyage in space, bearing in mind that each system, taken on its own, is not sufficient to tell the wondrous story of the Dolomites.

System 1 – Pelmo, Croda da Lago
System 2 – Marmolada
System 3 – Pale di San Martino, Pale di San Lucano, Dolomiti Bellunesi, Vette Feltrine
System 4 – Dolomiti Friulane and d’Oltre Piave
System 5 – Dolomiti Settentrionali
System 6 – Puez-Odle
System 7 – Sciliar-Catinaccio, Latemar
System 8 – Bletterbach
System 9 – Dolomiti di Brenta

Questo sito usa i cookie per offrirti la migliore esperienza possibile. Procedendo con la navigazione sul sito, accetti implicitamente l'utilizzo dei cookie sul tuo dispositivo.
Informativa sull'utilizzo dei cookie Accetto