The Protected Areas in the UNESCO Dolomites: Proposal for management of “5% areas”

Parks and Protected Areas account for a very significant portion of the Dolomites Site. Specifically, the Site includes a National Park (Dolomiti Bellunesi), eight regional/provincial natural parks (Dolomiti d’Ampezzo, Dolomiti Friulane, Fanes-Senes-Braies, Puez-Odle, Sciliar-Catinaccio, Tre Cime, Paneveggio-Pale di San Martino and Adamello-Brenta) and one Natural Monument (Bletterbach), which cover more than 70% of the area of the Site. Also including the sites that are part of the Natura 2000 Network, the protected areas exceed 95% of the entire Dolomites Site recognised by UNESCO.

The Foundation’s Landscape and Protected Areas Network, in collaboration with Veneto Progetti srl, has prepared a precise analysis of the areas included in the nine Systems of the UNESCO Dolomites that are currently without protection and conservation measures. For the sake of simplicity, these areas have been named “5% areas”, as they make up approximately 5% of the entire Dolomites World Heritage Site.

The aim of the study is to identify forms of management for the 5% areas and offer tools that help to guarantee adequate protection measures for the entire Dolomites World Heritage Site, as requested by UNESCO inspectors. For this purpose, based on the study “UNESCO Dolomites Natura 2000 Network Analysis: Proposal for Regulatory and Management Harmonisation of ‘5% Areas’, the Network is working together with Regional and Provincial Authorities to incentivise forms of dialogue between the relevant administrative bodies regarding planning for shared management of these areas through common agreements.

Find the full study here [in Italian].