Founding Members

The 9 systems of the Dolomites

The Dolomites


In 2009 the Dolomites were listed by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site, thus designating them the property of all of us.

The Dolomites UNESCO World Heritage Site belongs to all of us, to those born among these mountains, those for whom they are a holiday destination, those who know them from books, magazines, films and TV, those who have studied their geological, geomorphological features, their natural history, landscape, culture, sports, socio-economic situation and those who have just heard of them in passing.

The nine systems making up the UNESCO Dolomites each have their own highly distinctive features, yet they are closely interlinked. These pages will enable you to take a virtual tour of these systems, to explore their landscape, geology and geomorphology, to venture along their pathways and to wander in those parklands created to ensure their protection. You can delve into the museums that tell the story of the entire Dolomites region and its people, listen to local legends and learn to see these glorious mountains through the eyes of the ancient inhabitants of this magical land.

This map is for information purposes and in any case has no legal status


A tailored experience

This website uses technical cookies and, subject to prior consent, first- and third-party analytical and profiling cookies. If you close the banner, the settings remain in place and you continue browsing in the absence of cookies other than technical ones. Your consent to the use of cookies other than technical ones is optional and can be withdrawn at any time by setting your cookie preferences. For more information on each type of cookie we use, you can read our Cookie Policy.

Cookies used

Please find below the list of cookies used by our website.

Necessary technical cookies

The necessary technical cookies cannot be deactivated, as the website would not be able to function properly without them. The Site uses first-party, session and persistent cookies to provide you with our services. These help enable basic functionality such as page navigation, language preference and access to secure areas of the site. The Site also uses third-party analytical cookies from Google Analytics to collect information on the use of the Site by users (number of visitors, pages visited, time spent on the site, etc.). Users' IP addresses are collected and processed anonymously, and the service settings do not provide for data sharing with Google. For more details and information, please visit the vendor's page at However, you can disable Google Analytics cookies by downloading a specific browser plug-in available here:

First Party2





Find out more about this supplier